Carolyn Forché - poetWe’ve told you a little about our upcoming concert with poet Carolyn Forché, and today we’re happy to share the full program for this exciting collaboration of poetry and music (poetry by Carolyn Forché unless noted otherwise):

Poetry to be read before, after and between movements:

  • “Visitation”
  • “The Lost Suitcase”
  • “Exile”
  • “Letter to a City Under Seige”
  • “Travel Papers”

Shostakovich String Quartet No. 8 in C Minor, Op. 110

  • “Downfall” by Georg Trakl, tr. by Daniel Simko
  • “Elegy for an Unknown Poet”
  • “The Light Keeper”

Shostakovich String Quartet No. 3 in F Major, Op. 73

  • from “The Angel of History” by Carolyn Forché
  • “Fisherman” by Carolyn Forché
  • “Written in Pencil in the Sealed Railway Car” by Dan Pagis, tr. Stephen Mitchell
  • “Elegy” by Carolyn Forché
  • “Any Case” by Wislawa Szymborska, tr. Grazyna Drabik and Sharon Olds
  • “Tomorrow the Past Comes” by Ion Caraion, tr. Marguerite Dorian and Elliott R. Urdang
  • from “On Earth” by Carolyn Forché
  • “Sanctuary” by Carolyn Forché

Shostakovich String Quartet No. 2 in A Major, Op. 68

Get a preview here as Carolyn Forché reads “The Lost Suitcase”:

November 8, 2012
7:30 pm

Classical Concert Series 
Seton Hall University
South Orange Performing Arts Center
South Orange, New Jersey

Tel: (973) 313-2787

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.