britten-shostakovichSaturday morning (March 16) the Alexander String Quartet joins Robert Greenberg in the final program in The String Quartet at a Time of War, titled Triumph and Tragedy.

From San Francisco Performances:

Is it a concert series? Scholarly lectures? Classical music stand-up? The ASQ with Robert Greenberg is all three and more. For more than twenty years, these five passionate performers, avid scholars and friends have presented an entertaining, alchemical mix of chamber music and chat exploring the works of composers, their lives, influence and impact. The series has engendered a devoted following of concert-goers on both sides of the Bay and is one of SF Performances’ most popular series. “The ASQ and Bob Greenberg are on my Saturday morning Do List—it’s a great way to start the weekend and fit some high-caliber music into a busy schedule,” says one long-time fan.

These enlightening two-hour sessions open with Robert Greenberg’s musical and historical insights about the composers and their work, and conclude with complete performances of the featured repertoire by the ASQ.

Read Robert Greenberg’s blog on this concert.

Program: Triumph and Tragedy
Shostakovich Quartet No. 8 (1960)
Britten Quartet No. 3 (1975)

Tickets at

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.