This Saturday, the ASQ will close out the San Francisco Performances Franz Schubert Series with the Schubert Quintet in C Major (Read about this piece from guest lecturer Robert Greenberg!). Joining ASQ in this performance is cellist David Requiro.

About David Requiro:

First Prize winner of the 2008 Naumburg International Violoncello Competition, David Requiro (pronounced Re-keer-oh) has emerged as one of today’s most promising young cellists. After winning first prize in both the Washington International and the Irving M. Klein String Competitions, he also captured a top prize at the Gaspar Cassadó International Violoncello Competition in Hachioji, Japan, coupled with the prize for the best performances of works by Cassadó.

Mr. Requiro has soloed with the Tokyo Philharmonic, National Symphony Orchestra, Seattle Symphony, and and other orchestras across the U.S. His Carnegie Hall debut recital at Weill Hall was followed by a critically acclaimed San Francisco Performances recital at the Herbst Theatre. Soon after making his Kennedy Center debut, Mr. Requiro also completed the cycle of Beethoven’s Sonatas for Piano and Cello at the Phillips Collection in Washington, D.C. Actively involved in contemporary music, he has collaborated with composers Krzysztof Penderecki and Bright Sheng and most recently gave the Dutch premier of Pierre Jalbert’s Sonata for cello and piano at the 2010 Amsterdam Cello Biennale.

Mr. Requiro is currently Artist in Residence at the University of Puget Sound where he is professor of cello and director of the chamber music program. He has served as artist faculty at the Giverny Chamber Music Festival, Bowdoin International Music Festival, Innsbrook Music Festival and Institute, Maui Classical Music Festival, Olympic Music Festival, and Center Stage Strings. He is also a member of the Jupiter Symphony Chamber Players in New York City.

Find out more about Mr. Requiro at

Saturday May 5, 2012 – 10:00 am
Franz Schubert Series
San Francisco Performances Inc.
Herbst Theatre
San Francisco, California

ASQ with lecturer, Robert Greenberg
Schubert Quintet in C Major, D. 956, Op. posth. 163 (1828) with cellist, David Requiro

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.